WhatsApp iOS Update: Lets Users Play YouTube Videos Within The App

WhatsApp

WhatsApp for iOS is getting a new update that brings two important features, notably, a picture-in-picture mode for watching YouTube videos, and a better way of recording voice messages. The information was first shared by WABetaInfo on Twitter.

Social media apps are regularly updated with new features, to offer more options to users and overshadow the rivals at the same time. Over the past few months, WhatsApp, the most popular instant messaging app in the world, has taken the lead by regularly adding new features on its app across Android and iOS. We take a look at some of the new elements in WhatsApp Messenger for iOS users, seen in the latest beta version 2.17.81 which should be rolling out as the final release sometime soon.

“When you receive a link to a YouTube video, you can now play it right within WhatsApp. With picture-in-picture, you can also keep watching the video while you navigate to another chat,” the App Store description reads.

Watch videos in WhatsApp

The new update adds the flexibility to watch a YouTube video, shared by a contact, within WhatsApp itself, as reported by MacRumours. Earlier tapping on the video link would redirect users to the YouTube page of the video. Now, it will open in a pop-up window within WhatsApp, on the lines of the picture-in-picture mode available on devices running the latest Oreo version (8.1) of Android. This would make multi-tasking easier for users as they can watch a video and continue with the chat simultaneously.

Recording longer audio files

Recording and sending audio messages on WhatsApp will get a lot easier for users. According to online portal WeBetaInfo, WhatsApp’s new feature called Locked Recording allows users to record longer audio files and they don’t have to press and hold the microphone button for the entire duration of the audio recording, anymore. Swiping upwards on the button will open a hidden record icon right above it.

Giving more power to administrators

Group administrators will soon have more controls. The new feature will allow group administrators to confine the group chat feature to select users, claims WeBetaInfo. Those who don’t have the administrator’s permission will be able to see the chats made by others but won’t be able to comment or share a video, image or their location. This feature can come in handy when the admin wants to broadcast some message without interruption.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here